More than 200 LOWA members serve on 21 standing committees. These volunteers donate their time and experiences, monitor, maintain and improve the infrastructure and amenity programs throughout our community, enforce our Restrictive Covenants and Regulations and carry out projects to support the work of the General Manager and the Board of Directors. The BOD authorizes ad hoc and special committees as needed.

Committee meetings are open to all LOWA members and tenants. Committee membership is restricted to LOW property owners, although tenants may serve as non-voting members. Members serve three-year terms. Most committees consist of five to seven voting members with alternates and advisors as requested by the Chair, and each has an assigned BOD liaison. New officers are elected yearly when the committees reconstitute. If you have an interest in committee work, submit an Application for Committee Membership or pick one up from the LOWA Receptionist at the Holcomb Building. Volunteers are always needed.

Committees who have submitted approved meeting minutes can be read online. Click on the committee name below to take you to the committee page. On each page are the committee's minutes.

Association and Committee Calendar:  August 2015                      Proposed 2014-2018 New Capital projects

Committee Agendas 

Complete List of Committee Membership

Committee Chair Handbook (members must login)

The Current 2014-2015 Advisory Committees

  Have a question for the committees? Each committee chair's name is linked to their email address. Send them an email.

Reporting to the Board


Board Liaison

Board of Examiners

Pat Rowland

Nigel Goodwin


Bren Anderson

Olive Kelly


Neil Buttimer

Louisa Rucker

Community & Youth Activities

Candy Clevenger

Jim Hutchison


Betty Tabor

Louisa Rucker

Environmental Control

Joe Takacs

Olive Kelly

Equestrian Center

Gigi Winslett

Olive Kelly

External Affairs

Doug Rogers

Louisa Rucker


Roger Anderson

JoAnn Zwickl


Robert Haring

Jim Hutchison


Nancy King

Larry Morlan

Honor Awards

Carla Wascalus

Mike Rugless


Julie Wilson

Jim Hutchison

Legal and Compliance

Jack Spadaro

Louisa Rucker

Maintenance & Ecology

Gil Churchill

JoAnn Zwickl


Tim Grant

(no liaison)


Tom Sheridan

Nigel Goodwin


Brenda Conway

JoAnn Zwickl


Clifton Wilks

Nigel Goodwin

Safety & Security

John Bell

Larry Morlan


Arthur Devens

Larry Morlan







Neighborhood Watch

Larry Morlan

Jim Hutchison


Function of a Board Liaison to Committees.

The function of a Board Liaison to committees is to:

  • Promote effective communication between the committee and the Board.

  • Communicate the strategic plan of the Association to the committee

  • Foster a collaborative working relationship between the members, management and the Board

  • Monitor progress of the committee towards achieving its goals as set out in the Committee Charter

  • The Liaison may join in the discussions during the meeting by offering his or her own opinion but never that of the Board

  • The Liaison does not speak for the Board. Any statement given to the committee on behalf of the Board must be backed up by documentation of a Board decision.

Robert's Rules of Order:

While it is not a requirement that committees follow Robert's Rules of Order in conducting meetings, it is a recommended method for managing meetings. Visit the Robert's Rules of Order web site for information.